No audio on YouTube – fix

Yes, I like everyone else out there have been having way too much fun on youtube. Now I have a Windows XP Pro 64 system. I use Firefox and on occasion (when I have to) IE 6. So I’m not sure when it happened, but one day I noticed audio wasn’t playing on YouTube videos.

The first thing I did was follow the Youtube “help” suggestions. I checked all my media applications. Check. Checked my system audio. Check. Checked across different browsers. Check. Still no audio. Just on Youtube.

I needed my Youtube fix! So I set out on my own, uninstalling and reinstalling Flash player (which Youtube requires). No go. Upgraded Windows Media Player. No go. I clicked on all kinds of stuff. I tried codecs, xvid, etc. nothing.
Cut to the chase this is what to do (or at least what I did): Went to this site: www.Free-codecs.com and downloaded K-Lite Codec Pack. Install this nifty little app. Then browse through your start menu: Start – Programs – K-Lite Codec Pack – Configuration -Codec Tweak Tool

From there click the button for: Fix non-working system sound

And that’s it! Don’t know what happened, or how it happened. And I’m sure this is a great little app that can do way more than what I used it for. So if you run in to this problem, try this fix for it..

__________________

UPDATE:
It’s been two years and this is still my most popular post.  Thanks to all the tipsters who have added to this as well.
MaxFreeman added
K-Lite Codec Pack works great! But you need to make sure you download the “full” version of the program, not the basic one.
Here’s a working link with an updated version of K-Lite Codec Pack::  http://www.softpedia.com/get/Multimedia/Video/Codec-Packs-Video-Codecs/KLite-Codec-Pack.shtml Thanks for the update Max!

97 responses to “No audio on YouTube – fix

  1. GO TO ” My Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32″ FROM REGEDIT.
    ADD THIS LINE:
    wavemapper REG_SZ msacm32.drv
    ENJOY THE VIDEOS.
    if any question: fifeer2003@yahoo.com

  2. Thanks alot for this bro! It works like a charm! Thank you !

  3. Oh! I was refering to the K-Lite Codec pack!

  4. thanks for helping get sound back on youtube it wors now that prgram is great

  5. Well it didn’t work for me! Still no sound on youtube from my Windows XP Pro 64 system. I’ll have to keep looking for a solution. I’m just about ready to give up and go back to winXP32 bit. Damn Microsoft and their half-a55ed program releases.

  6. Thanks for getting this fix!!! My system is back with audio!!!!!!!!

    Thanks again.
    Mr. C

  7. muchisimas gracias, ya pensaba tirar el pc por la ventana

  8. thanks for the suggestion at very top it did work!!!!!

  9. U ledgend!!! –

    GO TO ” My Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32″ FROM REGEDIT.
    ADD THIS LINE:
    wavemapper REG_SZ msacm32.drv

    This works like a charm – thanks a mill!

  10. I installed this K Lite and still doesn’t work. Does anyone have any other suggestions??

  11. yay thx forgot about klite tweek tool, not sure how the heck i disabled sound only in flv files, I really need to find out soon, bad habit of uninstalling and installing certain codecs and such. Any idea what problem cause’s this, since youtube is based with flash/mpeg4, im thinking its a audio codec wasnt sure which one.

  12. Hey I tried the KLITE and it diddnt work. And the other suggestion is waaaay to confusing. My youtube or any video embed’s does not work so it would be great if anyone can help me out in fixing this problem. My PC is Window XP…. All my Audio works great

    But I want YOUTUBE!
    lool

  13. none of those worked for me if anybody has any other solutions email me at jbcseawolves@yahoo.com

  14. didn’t work for me either. dzhiuge@xxx.lt – please email me about any other solutions.

  15. I tried this regedit thing,but i cant find “Drivers32″
    i go to My Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ and then i can find drivers32 :(

  16. I found the solution here… Good luck!

    It was the last solution given in the post the right one for me!!

  17. works like a charm thanx :D

  18. worked for me thanks m8t been doin my ed in

  19. I can’t believe it… this has been bugging me for weeks. Thanks man!!!!

  20. Yeah man thanks a lot…it really helped : )I,ve been trying to solve this out for weeks….And who would have know that the fixing is soooo easy?Thanks again

  21. hi, i tried both the codec pack and the ‘driver32 method’, but still i can’t hear anything from youtube.
    all other musicprograms work perfect except of youtube. my soundcard also works fine and the volumecontrol is also set to maximum.

    does somebody know what to do? i’m working with a dell latitude d380 laptop with windows xp pro.

    i’m looking forward to hear something:)

  22. I was reading your post and having a deja-vu: I tried all of the things you tried, and nothing worked. But this one did! Thank you, you’re the man!

  23. Thanks my friend. You are a prince among men!!
    I have tried everything and nothing has worked until now.

  24. Thanks. Worked for me.

  25. check the speakers jigs. I had the same problem and i found that my stereo speakers were set as rear speakers as a part of 5.1 speakers.

  26. Works like a charm!!!!!!! Thanks

  27. Thanks, did just like you said, works great!

  28. MY friend i wond to tell you 1000 +1 thank you , you solve a problem to i have in my computen 4 weeks ago, always i remember you wen i listen a sound in you tube … thanx my friend. panos

  29. Hi, wtf, which package do i download on the k lite codec pack? please tell me soon.

  30. I’ve installed the full version of KLITE and finally I solved the prob thanks guys!

    http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_Lite_Codec_Pack.htm

  31. It worked……. THANKS!!! peace

  32. For some mysterious reason I have lost the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32 file. Now it only shows Drivers and no Drivers32. Is there a way to fix this?

  33. Thanks buddy. It worked for me. It was really frustrating but now I can watch video son Youtube.

  34. ive tried everything.installed the full version klitepack,the registry fix
    installed flah player again and again.even tried ccleaner. still no sound. help!

  35. I have had this “no sound” problem for several months now. And I have tried everything. I checked my system’s volume, uninstalled and re-installed the latest Flash Player, downloaded K-Lite Codec Pack and used the “Codec Tweak Tool,” and downloaded CCleaner. NOTHING WORKS!! Somebody has to know something. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  36. CONFIRM the method from “kotva” for those who use rear speakers as ear speakers. I turn off this feature and get immidiately sound in YouTube.

  37. THIS IS AWESOME… Took me days to find a fix. Installed this program and it worked right away!! THANK YOU!! =]

  38. Thank you, thank you, thank you, I’ve been searching for a fix to this on and off for months, tried many different things and none of them have worked until now! You’re a legend, thank you.

  39. Pingback: Audio missing from YouTube and simialr - Austech

  40. its not working for me…stupidstupidpunk@hotmail.com

    contact me for a solution

  41. THIS WORK!!!!
    THANKS fifeer!!!!

    GO TO ” My Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32″ FROM REGEDIT.
    ADD THIS LINE:
    wavemapper REG_SZ msacm32.drv
    ENJOY THE VIDEOS.
    if any question: fifeer2003@yahoo.com

  42. thxx very much yo…..!!!!!!

    Simply just install the k-lite codec and from configuration – tweak tool fix d probss…..

    It really works babyyyy……

  43. Woo Hoo
    It Works
    Thank You

  44. Thank you!! Nothing worked before I found your fix!
    Much gratitude!!!!!!!

  45. Pingback: No sound on You Tube Videos - Computer Support & PC Help

  46. Another Fix …

    After all of the reg repair’s were reviewed I decided to start basic.

    I opened startup with MSCONFIG. I found a file with an unknown origin … flashmute.exe

    I unchecked the box, went to windows and moved the file to an isolated place for later if it is needed.

    Restarted windows and went to youtube.

    Sound again!

    As with all problems, start with the basics before trying the more complicated fixes.

  47. I couldn’t believe it worked!!! Thanks so much, got sound back on youtube and everywhere else I didn’t have it! THANKS!!!!

  48. Thanks for the tips. The K-Lite full codecs pack did not work for me. CCleaner (latest version as of 9/04/08) worked like a charm. I’m gonna send a PayPal donation to the CC dude.

  49. WOW I’M AMAZED THAN YOU! IT WORKS.

  50. K-Lite Codec Pack works great! But you need to make sure you download the “full” version of the program, not the basic one.
    Here’s a working link with an updated version of K-Lite Codec Pack:
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Multimedia/Video/Codec-Packs-Video-Codecs/KLite-Codec-Pack.shtml

    Cheers :)

  51. Pingback: No Audio on YouTube – Updated « This is not the Texas I thought I knew….

  52. Pingback: Can't hear Youtube sound | keyongtech

  53. thanks!
    our life would be awefull without youtube.
    quite pathetic really XXX

  54. i have that problema, but when i try to do that it appears that that file already exist

  55. Pingback: No sound on any browser - Page 2 - PlanetCricket Forums

  56. Pingback: Youtube = No Sound! - Mindcast!

  57. I tried all the fixes and eventually the cleaner worked for me, so to anyone having this problem, don’t give up!

  58. A NEW solution i discovered , I tried EVERY SINGLE post on the web for months and none solved my problem.

    Until what I discovered today… This solution applies for ALL explorers so if you are using mozilla firefox or Internet Explorer you need to go to the directory

    c:\program files\Internet explorer

    c:\program files\Mozilla Firefox

    look for Setupadi.dll

    delete it in both directories. and if it doesn’t appear, restart the pc and directly go there, it will appear.

    Delete it, restart the browser and start it again and a Magic happens :)

    good luck.

  59. awesome fix to this problem bro!!! had klite already but, i had no idea it had that capability!!! ROCK ON!!!

  60. Thanks a million bro . It works really well. Your work has helped us all

  61. Doesn’t work worth crap.

    The following is what I have noticed:

    1) If I cold reboot the machine, I have sound in the browser

    2) If I run anything else which uses sound output — a game, media player, whatever — I can no longer have sound in any embedded player in the browser. In order to listen to something I have to download it, which isn’t always practical, since youtube hates the idea of you downloading it and taking away from them their power to allow you access to it (i.e. they constantly break whatever download programs I find)

    I ain’t rebooting every time I turn around just to get sound in my piece of SH** flash player.

    This problem has been around a long time and run through about four versions of flash, now.

    Near as I can discern, the idiotic piece of crap can’t find the damned pointers once another sound accessing program takes control of them, even when that program is no longer operating.

    ADOBE==MORONS.

  62. Work a treat. ur a legend.

  63. I’m gonna use this one for sure.
    Till now I was using http://www.tubeleecher.com

  64. I deleted c:\program files\Mozilla Firefox \setupapi.dll and my sound is back. K-lite didn’t help, nor the reg file etc.

  65. It is possible to turn down the volume control on Youtube without realising you’ve done it. If none of the above fixes worked for you, make sure this hasn’t happened. Go to Youtube, hover over the speaker icon on the screen (3rd from right) and check that the volume is up. This may seem a very basic and obvious fault, but it is still easy to overlook.

  66. Thanks alot!
    Worked a treat =)
    Was about to smash my computer up!

  67. Thanks Teddy! You rock. Such a simple solution. The volume control on the YouTube site WAS down. How that happened I don’t know, but Youtube works now!

  68. Sometimes if you just don’t give up! Finally an answer that works.

    Bryan

  69. Ok, I downloaded the k-lite full but for the life of me when I open the tweak tool there is no “Fix non-working system sound” button. Instead, this is all I see.
    http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g3/ocujer/tweak.jpg

    Little help plz.

  70. ohhh man thanks so much for your help, I have not lifted some audio from youtube for 1 month now but now I fixed it and thanks for your help:P

  71. The K-Lite and regedit fix didn’t work.

    The fixnoflashsound.reg or the adobe worked. I was having problems with Youtube – no sound… so duh!

    CCleaner work! I had to check all the boxes on the Windows (except Wipe Free Space ) & Application tab.

  72. OHHH BIG THX FOR U BRO. AFTER A WEEK FINALLY I FIXED IT!!! THERE IS THE RIGHT WAY:

    A NEW solution i discovered , I tried EVERY SINGLE post on the web for months and none solved my problem.

    Until what I discovered today… This solution applies for ALL explorers so if you are using mozilla firefox or Internet Explorer you need to go to the directory

    c:\program files\Internet explorer

    c:\program files\Mozilla Firefox

    look for Setupadi.dll

    delete it in both directories. and if it doesn’t appear, restart the pc and directly go there, it will appear.

    Delete it, restart the browser and start it again and a Magic happens

    good luck.

  73. where does it say “Fix non-working system sound”??????

    PLEASE REPLY!!

  74. I can see why this is your most popular post–for me, it was an effective and painless fix. :-D Thank you kindly!

  75. thank you!!!! :D

  76. http://www.nowin-nofee-claims.com/ I imagine I’ll change to this blogengine system as it really is a whole lot nicer than mine.

  77. What a super weblog! to significantly info and a very short existence hehehehe retain it up, excellent function

  78. yhNazemeShawnrfbwr

    I quite much get pleasure from your blog right here, thank you so a lot you have helped me out greatly Smile spread the really like.

  79. If you are experiencing a problem in not getting audio on certain YouTube videos, but sound on others I was able to fix that problem by simply changing the settings on my IE 9 browser. Here is what I did:

    1.) Go to TOOLS then to INTERNET OPTIONS
    2.) Click on the ADVANCED tab
    3.) In the SETTINGS BOX scroll down till you get to MULTIMEDIA
    4.) Make sure the “Play sound in webpages” is checked if not then check it
    5.) Click APPLY then OK

    You’re done.

    Hope that helps.

  80. Оба бpата вскоpе встали и ушли. Я, потpясенная, обpушилась на Стива с упpеками. Я обвиняла его, я тpебовала ответа, я плакала. Я была тем более pассеpжена, что жалобы и упpеки мои небыли уж такими чистыми. Ведь сам грудь Для этого она лежала в готовности pаскинув ноги, а я пpипала к низу собаки, и взяв в pот его дpожащий поpосший шеpстью член стал стаpательно сосать.

  81. I think the admin of this web site is in fact working hard in support of his web site, for the reason that here every material is quality
    based data.

  82. Pingback: Get Latest News Around The World

  83. Thanks it really worked installing codecs

  84. My website kurs autocad politechnika œl¹ska

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after browsing through a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    it and checking back regularly!
    My website cad cam cae kurs

  85. Hello every one, here every person is sharing these
    experience, so it’s pleasant to read this weblog, and I used to go to see this weblog every day.- http://www.zvacseniepenisux.com/
    rgrds hl3c53yx

  86. Hi there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which
    blog platform are you using for this website?

    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with
    hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  87. Much agreed. Anytime I go on %source_url&%, I find a website
    that is insightful and thought-provoking.. It’s never a bad idea to engage the ideas and material of other writers and link to other sites.

  88. remodel 951ing and/or expanding the place where everyone gets together as family or friends.
    Relocation and RebuildingUnited States Representative Christopher Shays, who has been nurturing a clean image
    from his days of student politics did not relish Sanjay’s brash and daredevil attitude often circumventing rules. With the details of your project. Bedroom Theme Girl S Bedroom Decorating Ideas. Of course if you are going to remodel 951 yourself, you can certainly adopt some frugal ways of kitchen remodel 951ing tends to run 25-50% less than current energy codes suggest.

  89. I HAD A POOP LOOL

    THIS DOESNT WORK AT ALL! I cant even find that option in the Codec pack! Im starting to think this Codec pack is dangerous? I dont highly recommend this at all. Didnt work! Sorry but, thumbs down.

  90. Fantastic Fix! Worked like a charm. Put in many hours trying to fix this issue. You Tube is playing again. Thank you.

  91. Thanks so much for sharing this excellent info! I’m seeking forward to see much more posts! edfeffcdfgdg

Leave a Reply

